Sherlock Holmes and My Psychotic Ideas

Have you ever really paid attention to the minor things instead of the major, usual ones? I used to do that. I have different ways to do a lot of things, and one of them is the way I see scenes in movies. Last time I watched Sherlock Holmes 2. My first impression was of course: “Wow. Genius!” That part was no different. But what came later were ideas scattering around my brain, full of questions. Again, I’m required to read a lot to find out thoroughly. I guess no matter how much I tried to find out I never felt its good enough.
Some parts just left huge questions and I guess all I can do for now is note them here so I won’t forget to dig them up, someday when I had the source, so I can do something more satisfying with these information. My personal opinion so far is, this movie secretly describes the sentiments and political pull strings within powerful countries around the World War. Perhaps the brilliant mind-setting scenes were brain boogling, but some sentences and scenes caught my mind.
I hereby note these:

  1. Why is chess chosen as a symbolic play of the game? Chess is something brought from Southern Asia, most probably India, to Eastern Europe. If I’m not mistaken, the main piece used in the movie was a Queen. Holmes is British, using a queen chess piece as a symbol for the war against Prof. Moriarty was somewhat mind intriguing for me. I’m zero at chess so perhaps I should read more about chess. I also found an interesting site that explains about the use of chess as symbol in movies and other media.
  2. Exactly under the Eiffel tower, Holmes and his companions were having lunch. He said that the omelet is quite good but the tea is cheap. A British saying ‘cheap tea’ under such spot, the symbol of France, meanwhile for the British, tea is a symbol of high society. This definitely says something. It wasn’t clearly implied what does ‘cheap’ articulate.
  3. Germany is spotted as a large weapon manufacturer this time. But in the scene where the Germans were shooting Holmes and his friends, the commander said “Fire!” instead of speaking German. A bunch of Germans in Germany, in a large artillery factory, firing two British and a Gypsy from France, lead by perhaps – a right hand of a powerful British man. In this case, this is of course Prof. Moriarty.
    (update note: the German word for fire is Feuer. Contrariwise, the pronunciation is closer to ‘fire’. I will have to recheck. Sorry)
  4. Prof. Moriarty’s right hand man, the sniper, was smoking Afghanistan tobacco. It was said in the movie that the tobacco was a product involved in the British – Afghanistan campaign. Either this is a true case or not, I still have to find out whether any campaigns exist. If it does, then we’ll really have to pull loads of red strings together and elaborate them.
  5.  The explosions were only distractions for other aims, such as murder. The terrors were only a catalyst toward economical manipulations purpose, something that is somewhat typical to the things related to the previous World War. I am a person who believes that genius people are the mastermind who knows exactly how mindset works, so they would play with people’s mindset in a very delicate scenario to reach their very own purpose. One of the typical thing they do is use the mindset black spot – distraction. We also need to note that in the movie, the master mind is a British aristocrat.
  6. The method face changing surgery was used in such an era – although it seems not perfect yet that it leaves scar. From the plot, it seems that how Rene (the man who got face surgery and plays as an ambassador) act shows that he was brainwashed, especially because he didn’t gave any spontaneous reaction toward a racket caused by champagne crystal glasses falling to the floor. Perhaps this method was used even that long time ago. Hitchcock, Lacan and Jung sure will nod their head much.
  7. I am also still curious on how movie people oftenly relate Gypsies to France.
  8. In one of the latest scene, the black queen chess piece stands firm, checking mate the opponent. But both the men crossing swords fell to the waterfall. This probably says “Long live the Queen.” The crossing swords fell, the Queen stood.
  9.  I still have no idea of a semiotic reading from a red notebook of Moriarty’s. Nevertheless, I will keep in mind the fishing anecdote used by the two leads. 
  10. The producer Guy Ritchie said that the real enemy in the movie is not Moriarty, but the sides of the human itself. Moriarty is only taking advantage of the situations. I agree, the empty corners, perhaps. I bet Hitchock, Lacan and Jung will agree on this too.
  11. The composer was a genius German guy, Hans Zimmer. Haven’t done any research of him yet.
  12. I almost forget about Watson. I should give more credits on him. There you go, one of my own mind distractions. Just talked about it and done it myself, what a blasphemy. Oh well, humans.

Now you see? From one movie there were tons of works already. I don’t really give a damn on the major stuffs such as the plot or the actors. They are significant, but I believe that the real encrypted messages are on the minor stuffs. Human mindset is working stronger undercover, the unconscious is having a very strong tie with the conscious, and it plays the dominant role. The real power is the one we cannot see. That is why, I think one of my future goal is pursuing this thinking as one of the method for implementing movie research. Tell me I’m crazy, but a dream should be big.

Anyway, curious but haven’t watch the movie? Read the spoiler HERE. I should start to prepare myself from now 

Leave a Reply

